Reading, Writing, Taking Pictures

An update of some successes (and otherwise) since last time.

Four months into 2017 – into the fifth – and I’ve subbed over thirty pieces of writing so far, with just over half having been rejected – so I’m some way from achieving the hundred rejections for the year.

There are still some pieces out there in that limbo called “under consideration”, and a few have been accepted, published or performed.

So, recently I’ve done two more readings – one as part of a @AngryManifesto night in Bristol – a poem called Antarctic, 1912 –  and it was, as always, fantastic to share the floor with such a diverse and talented range of writers.

At the same event, I read another poem, Between Wear and Tyne, which has become the first piece I’ve ever had published twice, featuring as it did in a recent football match programme for the local Northern League fixture between Newcastle Benfield and Sunderland RCA , as well as being forthcoming in issue 2 of @GloveLitZine… big thanks to @PopularSideZine for accepting the piece for both publications

I also read a weird little story called Emptiness, Snowmelt at the recent @SCWriting Talking Tales event in Stokes Croft, Bristol – again, some incredibly talented writers and performers there on the night – so good to read in such good company.

I was also thrilled to have a story called #truebeauty accepted for performance by @StroudStories – I’ll be reading at their show in a couple of weeks, and I’m really looking forward to it.

I also had a flash called Stones up at the website linked to  @reflexfiction – a piece which a lot of people seemed to like.

@TheBorfskiPress are publishing a poem called Blue Horse in their next issue soon.

I’ve also got a short story called Curtains,Binbags in line to be featured at @storiesforhomes Shelter website…

and…I’ve also got a story on a longlist, (can’t say which – I think it’s hush-hush at the minute) but I count longlist as success…

And… last but by no means least, I had a photograph of mine accepted for publication on The Guardian website, in their “Ten Best Pictures” series – a shot of protesters at an anti-trump rally in Bristol. To have a photograph at such an esteemed publication after only six months of taking shots “seriously” (whatever that means) is a real thrill.

So, a busy month.

Just by getting stuff out there – by aiming for 100 hundred rejections in a year – I seem to be picking up some successes along the way.

Links to all of these publications and sites can be found on the “about” section of the blog.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

